Counting with Beans

What can you make with ice trays and chick peas? An interesting activity for your preschooler.

I love using math manipulatives to teach Math. It’s not always feasible to buy these items from stores, so I am constantly looking for objects at home that can become interesting math manipulatives. And that’s how I came with the ice trays and chick peas to teach counting.

First, I began with two ice trays. I filled ten slots in the first one and asked big A to count the number of chickpeas, then I filled one slot in the next ice tray and asked her to count it. Then, I asked her to count the chick peas in both trays together. She counted 10 and then continued counting the next one as 11. I asked her to fill the numbers in her sheet. I repeated the exercise again, the first ice tray continued to contain 10 chick peas, and each time I added 1 more chick pea into the next tray. For the next 3 turns, she counted 10 and then the additional ones in the second tray, then I decided she was ready for the next step.

When I filled the second tray with 6 chick peas, I told her that the first tray already had 10, so she only needs to continue counting the chick peas in the second tray. I showed her how by saying “This has 10, and then comes 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 and 16.”. She picked up the counting pattern quickly, and each time I added a chick pea to the tray, her counting began from 11 onward.

WP_003352 WP_003353 WP_003354

After the second tray was filled with 10, I pulled out a third tray. Now we began counting by 20’s. Two trays had 20 chick peas, and each time I added a chick pea to the third tray, her counting began from 21 onward. Who knew counting could be so much fun!

Little A wasn’t happy about being left out, so I gave him a little tweezer and asked him to pic chick peas from the bowl using the tweezer and put them into slots in the ice tray. He loved the little activity, and it helped him build gross motor skills.

WP_003364 WP_003365

About Kanchan Shine

I am a mom and I have been working in the education domain for over 10 years. I am passionate about making learning fun for kids.

Posted on July 2, 2013, in Counting, Fun with Maths and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

